Uruguay beat Chile through an 82nd-minute strike from Paris Saint-Germain’s Edinson Cavani to claim the top spot in Group C of this year’s Copa America.
However, Luis Suarez was the one that drew the most attention with a silly appeal, as he signaled to the referee that Chile goalkeeper Gabriel Arias had handled the ball – inside his penalty box.
“He’ll try anything” has always been one of the most prominent comments about the controversial Barcelona striker, but this was certainly taking it to ridiculous lengths.
Despite the appeals, I think somewhere deep down Suárez knows a handball call would have been unlikely…pic.twitter.com/nTfqGkFCNp
— The Tactical Times (@Tactical_Times) June 25, 2019